Learned Last Week

With a hat tip to Harold Jarche (@hjarche) for the form, here are some of the ideas, observations, and insights that others shared last week, received via Twitter, RSS feed, or link round-up. Quotation implies engagement, but not necessarily endorsement.

@oxala75, “Do You Brag About Your PLN?” via @ASTDLearnTech
“I’m proud that I eventually stopped being ‘the Twitter guy’ – that is, I stopped being just a tolerated, quirky evangelist for the platform when I stopped telling people how valuable Twitter is and started using it very publicly to inform my discourse in the workplace.”

@tressiemcphd, “The Atlantic Article, Trickle Down Feminism, and my Twitter Mentions. God Help Us All.”
“What has been known to actually happen, however, is that power makes allowances for power and the powerless continue to not be beneficiaries. It is not that I do not trust power. I trust power to be what it is. What I do not trust is that power will be what it has never been.”

Daniel Kahneman, The Observer, “This Much I Know.”
“My main work has concerned judgment and decision-making. But I never felt I was studying the stupidity of mankind in the third person. I always felt I was studying my own mistakes.” “Collaboration is not only more creative, it is more fun. Amos Tversky, my research partner, and I were better together than on our own. We sort of knew that. Mostly it was extremely pleasant not trying to work everything out yourself.”

Mo Costandi, Nature, “Racial bias colours visual perception.”
“Prejudiced people slowest to recognize faces from other races.”

@anniemurphypaul, “Learning on the Job, Myth versus Science.”

@fancylarue: Following Math is hard. Will not delete errant tweet so that I can learn from my folly. ‪#duncecap‬

Mathbabe, “Mathematicians Know How to Admit They’re Wrong.”
“Not every person gets trained in being wrong and admitting it…Most people never even say something that’s provably wrong in the first place.”

xkcd, “The United Shapes: A Map of Things States Are Shaped Like.”

@keithferrazzi, HBR, “How to Turn a Relationship into a Sale.
“One of the things I advise salespeople to do is to be prepared with five packets of generosity and no expectations. Do the homework required to go into each meeting with a list of five ways to make the person you’re meeting successful.”

@ariadne4444: Thoughts become words become actions become habits become character. And your character becomes your destiny. Freeman Hrabowski ‪#BbW12‬

Aleph Blog, “The Failure of Government-Provided Prosperity.”
“Government is designed for justice, and does not do well when trying to promote prosperity.”

About David D. LaCroix

Learning and education strategist; Director of Operations at Versatile PhD. All opinions expressed here are my own and do not represent those of my clients, partners, or employers.
This entry was posted in weekly round-ups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

